Moving In from Out of State:
A customer moving into Kentucky from another state is required to title/register their vehicle within 15 days of bringing the motor vehicle into the state.
To title/register the vehicle in Kentucky the following is required:
– Original title
– Photo identification
– Social Security Number, Driver’s License Number, ITIN Number, Visa Number or Federal Identification Number
– Proof of Kentucky insurance
– Proof of sales tax paid in the other state
– A certified inspection on TC96-182.
**If you are moving in from out of state and the title is being held by a lien holder, it must be released to the Barren County Clerk. The release is requested through an Out-of-State Title Request form which our office will use to make the request on your behalf. We ask that you come to our office to make this request. The following information will be needed to make the request:
– Name of Lienholder
– Address of Lienholder
– Account Number (if available)
– Fax Number of Lienholder (if available)
– Vehicle Information (i.e. year, make, VIN Number)
The County Clerk’s Office will notify you of receipt of your title from the lien holder. If you do not apply for title and registration in Kentucky within thirty (30) days from the date the County Clerk’s Office receives the title from the lien holder, the title will be returned to the lien holder on the thirty-first (31st) day.
Moving in from Out of State fees:
– Title Application Fee: $9.00
– Usage Tax: 6% of current months NADA trade in value Unless you have proof of tax paid you will receive a tax credit. If there is a difference between, the customer will owe the difference. (For more information, go to step 4 of processing — see below)
– Plate Fee: $25.00 (for one year, birth month to birth month)
– Lien Release: $22.00 if lien is filed within 30 days of the date on the title lien statement $24.00 if lien is filed after 30 days of the date on the title lien statement
1. Our office will file a lien on your new Kentucky title. The County Clerk’s Office will notify you of receipt of your title from the lien holder. If you do not apply for title and registration in Kentucky within thirty (30) days from the date the County Clerk’s Office receives the title from the lien holder, the title will be returned to the lien holder on the thirty-first (31st) day.
2. A Sheriff’s Inspection is required on all out-of-state vehicles. You must take the title and vehicle to the Barren County Sheriff’s Office. (1)
3. When registering an out-of-state vehicle Commonwealth of Kentucky, proof of insurance is required. Insurance must be in the registered owner’s name. When providing the Clerk’s Office with an insurance card it cannot have an Effective/Issue date older than 45 days from the date that it is presented. It is important to note that the effective date of the policy may be different than the effective date of the insurance card. For acceptance, the Clerk’s Office is concerned with the date the card was issued, not the policy. This applies to Personal Policies only. Mandatory Insurance Law
4. Upon first time registration of a vehicle in Kentucky, the County Clerk collects a 6% usage tax. On a used vehicle, the tax is based on the current trade-in value according to the NADA guide.
(1) There is a fee of $5.00 (cash or check) for inspections. The Sheriff inspection’s telephone number is 270.651.2771.
Tax credit may be obtained for any previous sales or usage tax paid to another state by the current registered owner. If there is a difference between previous tax paid by current owner and tax due Kentucky, then the applicant will be expected to pay the difference. The tax proof must be in your name and be on an invoice from the dealer or from the Department of Revenue where the vehicle was registered. Acceptable proof of sales or usage tax paid in another state must include the name of registered owner, vehicle identification number and amount of state sales tax paid. It may also be listed on the Out-of-State Title. If the vehicle was previously registered in Kentucky under the current owner’s name, then Usage Tax will be waived.